A Day Hiker Reviews Point6 Socks for Sock-Off 2011

If you would like to find socks that will keep your feet comfortable, dry and blister-free in every activity you participate in, look no further, Point6 is your solution.I wrote a guide a while back outlining some points to consider when choosing the right hiking socks.

A guide which caused quite the debate on twitter and eventually spawned The Great Sock-Off 2011.

Point6 was the first sock up so I hit the trail at Swallow Cliff wearing a pair of Point6 Hiking Tech Light Mini Crew socks in order to evaluate their pros and cons and see how well they would measure up in the ultimate sock showdown… The Great Sock-Off 2011!

I decided to hike one of my favorite trails, the 8 mile Sag Valley Yellow Trail. Field testing my Point6 Hiking Tech Light Mini Crew socks with the following criteria in mind:

  • Price and availability
  • Comfort and Fit
  • Padding and Support
  • Durability
  • Overall Performance on the Trail

Knowing that I came into The Great Sock-Off 2011 as an advocate for synthetic fiber socks, I think you’ll be surprised at my impressions.

Point6 Hiking Tech Light Mini Crew socks

Point6 Hiking Tech Light Mini Crew socks

Price and availability:

My Point6 Hiking Tech Light Mini Crew socks set me back $18.95, which I think is a bit pricey but not completely out of line for a hiking sock. On the plus side I was able to purchase them locally from a skiing/snow-boarding shop near my office called Alpine Accessories. From what I understand neither Adam or Dave were able to find them locally, and honestly… I think I just got lucky. Chances are if you go to look for them you’re not going to find them either… However, Point6 has a great website so you can shop easily and conveniently from home. Or if you’re a bargain hunter like me, you can do what I do and Get The Outdoor Gear You Need At Up To 70% Below Retail At The Clymb.com

Comfort and Fit:

I have to admit. I really thought that my Point6 Hiking Tech Light Mini Crew socks would fall flat in this area. I truly thought this would end up being the achilles heel for them. Perhaps I’m showing my age here, but before Point6 when I thought of wool socks I thought of heavy, uncomfortable, scratchy potato sacks on my feet. Imagine my surprise when I slipped on my well fitting, light-weight, soft and sleek Point6 socks… I really can’t stress enough just how comfortable they are. The material, the fit, the function, it’s like the sock was tailored for my foot, and where I thought this sock would do the worst ended up being one of my favorite features!

Padding and Support:

I expect padding and support from a hiking sock and Point6 did not dissapoint. My Point6 Hiking Tech Light Mini Crew socks offered supportive cushioning across the instep as well as under foot providing just the right amount of support and padding where I needed it, without being bulky or constricting.

Durability:

Honestly I have to say this is a wash. My hike was only 8.5 miles, not nearly long enough to test the true durability of any sock. However I will update this after several more hikes, and several more washes to let you know how they held up.

Overall Performance on the Trail:

I have to admit I was pleasantly surprised by my Point6 socks. I expected them to be heavy, hot and itchy when in fact the 100% Merino Wool was well fitting, lightweight and durable. I advocated synthetic fibers going in to The Great Sock-Off 2011 so I really didn’t expect the Point6 socks to fit and feel as well as they did. Overall Point6 socks did better than I expected and they are definitely a heavy contender for The Great Sock-Off 2011 crown (at least in my mind) and I would recommend them without hesitation.

But don’t just take my word for it! Remember to read Adam’s review at his blog HikingTheTrail.com, and Dave’s review at his blog DaveCreech.com, and of course remember to stay tuned for the next Great Sock-Off 2011 review featuring the Thorlo-CoolMax Synthetic trail running sock.

Better yet, instead of just reading about it… Why not participate? Get up, get out, and get hiking! You can Get The Outdoor Gear You Need At Up To 70% Below Retail At The Clymb.com So join today and get yourself a pair of wool socks and a pair of synthetic socks and participate in The Great Sock Off 2011!

Full Disclosure:  I purchased the Point6 socks used in this review myself, they were not provided to me by the manufacturer nor their distributors. I was not compensated in any way to provide an opinion on their products, services or website. The views and opinions expressed on this blog are purely my own.

Enhanced by Zemanta

12 thoughts on “A Day Hiker Reviews Point6 Socks for Sock-Off 2011

    • Thanks for sharing Terry! I’m glad you enjoyed the piece and the information! I enjoyed testing my Point6 socks and sharing my thoughts on them. The best thing is… I’m sure I’m going to enjoy using them for a long time to come 😉

      BTW… I did update the look of the site. I’m glad you like it. I’m rather partial to it myself!

      Thanks for stopping by and offering your input Terry, it is always appreciated!

  1. What kind of shoe did you wear them with?

    I’ve recently become annoyed with socks — my last two backpacking trips were sweatier than most, and on both I got a rash on my legs above the ankles. They were the run-of-the mill thick weight REI sock. I have no idea what they are made of (they appear synthetic) but I bought them for warmth and cold weather.

    I need to expand my sock horizons.

    • D’oh! I probably should have mentioned this in the piece 🙂 I was wearing my trusty Keen Targhee II’s.

      Coming into this competition I thought of wool socks as the cause of sweaty, itchy rash infested hikes but these Point6 socks were nothing like I’d imagined. Merino wool… It’s not your father’s fiber 😉

      If you’re itching for a change (pardon my pun) I would definitely recommend giving Point6 a shot!

      Thanks for stopping by and offering your input, I really appreciate it! Please don’t be a stranger!

      BTW… I really like your blog! 😉 the 1000 mile challenge is fantastic!

  2. Pingback: Injinji is Next up in Sock-Off 2011: Pre-Hike Rundown | Diary of a Day Hiker

  3. Pingback: Thorlos is Next up in Sock-Off 2011: Pre-Hike Rundown | Diary of a Day Hiker

Leave a comment