Injinji is Next up in Sock-Off 2011: Pre-Hike Rundown

Injinji Footwear offers patented Performance Toesocks™ that are designed to enable the human foot – from the heel to the five toes – to function naturally and efficiently inside a shoe.

Injinji offers patented Performance Toesocks™

So far I have reviewed Point6 socks as well as Thorlo socks for the ultimate sock showdown, better known as The Great Sock-Off 2011.

Next up for review is Injinji! I will be putting my Injinji Outdoor Series Toe Socks to the test this weekend and then offer my opinion on their performance.

After two rounds of reviews I have Point6 in the lead. Thorlo socks are a quality product I just felt the 100% merino wool Point6 socks were more comfortable, better fitting and had better moisture wicking qualities than the synthetic fiber Thorlo socks did. We shall see if wool retains it’s crown as the superior fiber this week!

I will be hitting the trail once again. This time wearing Injinji Outdoor Series Toe Socks made with natural moisture wicking NuWool™ which is supposed to adjust with the temperature, keeping feet warm in cold weather and cool in hot weather. Just as in the previous weeks I will put my Injinji socks to similar tests, evaluating their pros and cons, and then compare them to see which sock reigns supreme!

As with the previous socks I’ll be hiking one of my favorite trails, the 8 mile Sag Valley Yellow Trail. A loop starting at the Swallow Cliff parking lot, the wide trail hugs the base of the bluff as it heads eastward, eventually circling southwest to McClaughry Springs and then to the top of the moraine above McClaughry woods. The trail then weaves down through the Laughing Squaw Sloughs and continues west across the Sag Valley, named for the former Saganashkee Swamp.

Injinji Performance Toesocks - Outdoor Series Crew Toesock

Injinji Performance Toesocks – Outdoor Series Crew Toesock

The Gear:

Injinji Outdoor Series Toe Socks in Keen Targhee II’s

The Criteria:

  • Price and availability
  • Comfort and Fit
  • Padding and Support
  • Durability
  • Overall Performance on the trail

Point6 is ahead in my book… Can Injinji top them? Who knows? Follow hashtag #Sockoff2011 on twitter for more information!

But don’t just take my word for it! Remember to read Adam’s reviews at his blog HikingTheTrail.com, and Dave’s reviews at his blog DaveCreech.com, and of course you know where to find mine right? So stay tuned for the results!

Better yet, instead of just reading about it… Why not participate? Get up, get out, and get hiking! You can Get The Outdoor Gear You Need At Up To 70% Below Retail At The Clymb.com So join today and get yourself a pair of Injinji socks and participate in The Great Sock Off 2011!

Enhanced by Zemanta

3 thoughts on “Injinji is Next up in Sock-Off 2011: Pre-Hike Rundown

  1. You know… That was actually the first thing I thought as well! “Why would anyone want a pair of toe socks? What’s that all about?!?” and I don’t want to ruin the review but I have to say I’ve worn them several times now and they are surprisingly comfortable, and honestly having the toes isn’t just a gimmick! There is actually some benefit to it…

    But I don’t want to say anymore for fear of ruining the review, so I guess you’ll just have to come back next week to hear the rest of my story 🙂

    As always, thanks for stopping by and offering your input 🙂 I really appreciate it!

  2. Pingback: Gratitude 89: Warm Socks on a Cold Night « Perpetual Gratitude: A Photographic Diary

Leave a comment